Electrolux and White Guide present Global Gastronomy Award 2016

The Global Gastronomy Award is presented to an internationally renowned chef who serves as a role model within contemporary gastronomy. Presented by White Guide for the tenth year running – since 2010 in cooperation with Electrolux – this year’s award goes to Dan Barber of Blue Hill, New York.

The jury’s motivation:

“For sharing his deep insights into the challenges we face regarding food sustainability and for his many initiatives to retrieve lost flavor treasures and conceive of new ones. Long celebrated as the father of the farm-to-table movement, he has realized that the current approach to local ecological sourcing is not enough to secure health and wellbeing – for us or our habitats. We need to rethink our entire approach to food, based on nature’s own laws and cycles. It is not about nostalgia – but strict science.”

As much a food philosopher and researcher as a chef, Dan Barber holds a spot at the World’s 50 Best Restaurants list with his restaurant Blue Hill at Stone Barns, entering at #49 in 2015. It is quartered in the old Rockefeller family farm in upstate New York, a 45-minute drive from the city, together with the research and education facility Stone Barns Center for Food & Agriculture.

Alberto Zanata, Head of Electrolux Professional business area, explains the collaboration with White Guide on the Global Gastronomy Award:

“Electrolux close cooperation with professional chefs and the gastronomical community is essential for the development of professional appliances and supports our ability as a company to offer consumers the chance of creating great tasting, healthy meals at home. Sustainability in the food industry is a core topic for us to engage in, ranging from issues around nutrition to food waste and not least the resource efficiency of appliances. We’re proud to be part of presenting the Global Gastronomy Award, which again goes to a chef with a strong sustainable profile.”

Earlier award recipients:

  • 2007: Ferran Adrià, El Bulli, Roses, Spain
  • 2008: Charlie Trotter, Charlie Trotter’s, Chicago, USA
  • 2009: Fergus Henderson, St. John, London, UK
  • 2010: René Redzepi, Noma, Copenhagen, Denmark
  • 2011: Alain Passard, l’Arpège, Paris, France
  • 2012: David Chang, Momofuko, New York, USA
  • 2013: Gastón Acurio, Astrid y Gastón, Lima, Peru
  • 2014: Massimo Bottura, Osteria Francescana, Modena, Italy
  • 2015: Magnus Nilsson, Fäviken Magasinet, Järpen/Åre, Sweden